‹ Blog Home

Announcing the Student Volunteer of the Year Award Shortlist!

Posted on 26 Jan 2015

It took dozens of nominations, a panel of six judges and many hours of deliberation, and we are delighted to announce the shortlist for the Student Volunteer of the Year Award 2015.

In no particular order:

  • Conor McGlacken from the University of Bristol
  • Gary Rutherford from Ulster University
  • Harriette Pearson from Barts and The London School of Medicine and Dentistry (part of Queen Mary University of London)
  • Henry Owen from the University of Oxford
  • Simon Stringer from the University of Plymouth

We will be featuring each shortlisted volunteer in a series of special blog posts the week before SVW. The winner, to be announced by Julian Huppert, MP, at our Parliamentary Celebration on Monday 23 February, will receive £1,000 to donate to a charity or volunteering project of their choice.

Sian Joseph, Charlotte Hill and Yvonne Pearse mid-deliberation

Thank you to our six judges for contributing your time, expertise and enthusiasm to this difficult task. The judges were Jane Clark, Head of Campus Recruitment for Barclays, Yvonne Pearse, Development Director for Student Hubs, Charlotte Hill, Chief Exec for the #iwill campaign, Aidan Bannon, last year's Award winner, Raechel Mattey, VP Union Development for NUS, and Sian Joseph, Senior Policy Advisor for the Cabinet Office.

Read about last year's winner, Aidan Bannon, and how he spent his prize money.

The SVW Team

The national team from Student Hubs & NUS coordinate SVW activities for the nationwide campaign, 23 Feb - 1 Mar 2015

Categories: Award